Winner and another giveaway……….

Fall is in the air.  This tree is across the street and is already losing leaves.  Other trees have barely started turning.

Now, for the winner of yesterday’s Lapel Stick.  First, I said NO REPLY people would automatically be disqualified.  Image how I felt when the first three comments were all no reply.  Numbers 4 and 5 were too but they put their email in their comment so they were included.  Those of you  NO REPLY with blogger accounts, go to your profile page, click on the Edit Profile button (top right corner), put a check mark in the box after Show my email address, scroll down and SAVE.  If you don’t save it, it isn’t done.  Those of you with Google+, almost all of you are no reply, I wish I could help you but I don’t know how to get your email enabled.

Now for the winner, 19 people were in the drawing.  I did it the old fashioned way of writing names on slips of paper and picking one out of the pile.  The winner is KadyB.

Today anyone in the US can enter.  My second test for the Lapel Stick was for a binding all by machine.  I quilted a little sample of 3 layers and sewed my binding onto the front side.

Then I put a very small amount of the Lapel Stick glue near the fold edge of the binding and pressed it in place with my fingers on the back side of the sample.  Then I stitched from the right side and caught the folded edge with my stitching.  I even glued the corner in place with a very light coating of glue and it didn’t move.  I can’t stand the idea of a stream of wet glue on my quilts so I was happy with this thin coating of glue stick that doesn’t gum up my needle.


Giveaway drawing CLOSED at midnight 9/30/14 

77 thoughts on “Winner and another giveaway……….

  1. Once again – I LOVE your work! Also your flowers. I use Elmer's glue but would welcome the chance to try a stick that would work because it would be easier to use.
    Thank you for a very enjoyable blog.

  2. I'm going through chemo now and would welcome ANY thing that would help me get back to my beloved quilting which has become a chore if I can manage to get to it at all. Your work was the inspiration for my 'cheery quilt' that I take to treatments. No place there for CW repros!

  3. I have not been successful with machine applique but enjoy the process of hand work. Perhaps this lapel brand glue stick will help with the machine work. Thanks for the give-a-way!

  4. I sound like a copycat, but I do love your work, the colors amaze me. I have corrected my profile so I should not be “no reply” any longer – – would love to win a glue stick, hate pins and need to work on machine sewn bindings.

  5. Thanks for a chance to win this product. I like your pictures of nature and your plants Trees are turning and losing leaves here, also, and I'm busy picking up black walnuts.

  6. I am with you about the no reply blogger comments. What is the point of even them leaving a comment if they block you from replying? I recently had a giveaway and the winner was a no reply person so therefore they didn't get the prize! I have never tried the Lapel Stick. I will have to try and find a source for them.

  7. Wow another cool give away. I have been wanting to try the all done by machine binding. Well I tried it once and did not like the outcome so ripped it out and did it by hand. That looks like a sure fail way to keep it all in place. Would love to try that product as well.

  8. I was just in a shop that had it, (can't remember which shop tho), couldn't think of why I wanted to get it… and didn't get it. Now that you have pointed out several 'good' reasons to have it, I wish I did get it!!! And will put it on my list of GETS.

  9. I would like to try the lapel stick, looks like it will be great for bindings.
    marcih AT kc DOT rr DOT com

    As for why people leave remarks that you can't reply to — maybe they want to tell you how they enjoy your blog, don't really need to reply to that.

  10. Lapel stick sounds like the perfect ticket to perfect binding by machine. It certainly would beat pinning. Thanks so much for a wonderful blog that I look forward to early each morning!
    dianne gdavidhoffmanatyahoo dotcom

  11. Would like to try this method of attaching binding. I help out a friend with binding quilts she does for a children's home and do them all by machine. If I don't win this one, please share where we might find this product.

  12. This is the first time I have read about the Lapel Stick, so I am quite interested – I would love a chance to try one out – it looks like it would work perfectly for many of my sewing/machine embroidery projects. Thanks for the opportunity!

  13. Love your blog! Love the Kaffe fabrics-I'm never happier than when I'm just surrounded by them.
    I've never seen this glue before, but would love to give it a try.
    Thank you for your generosity doing these giveaways.

  14. I would be interested in trying this product. I have enjoyed following your blog and your lovely work for quite a long time.

    Andrea
    andreajohnson730ATgmailDOTcom

  15. I recently had to do a sort of picture quilt – a bird's eye view of the river that runs through the farm where I live, and some of the surrounding fields – a first for me. And I used a glue stitch a lot, to keep the pieces in place. The stick you have would undoubtedly have worked enen much better!

Leave a Reply

