Tiny…………

Someone once told me I was obsessed with colorwash.  I prefer to think I am driven to create with a smooth blend of values.  I used to cut kits of 2.5″ squares when I taught colorwash classes.  There was usually a piece left by the fold from which I could cut a 2″ or 1.5″ square.  If I cut a 1.5″ square the leftover was 1″ and those are the pieces I used for this little quilt.  The 6″ ruler is to give you a perspective of the size of the piece.  I know I still have a tray of 1″ squares in one of my storage boxes.

17 thoughts on “Tiny…………

  1. You make me want to play with this technique. I adore value studies of all kinds. And I wish I had jumped when you offered your kits. Oh well. Next time.
    Love this blog!
    Diane

  2. Good morning Wanda….What I love most about this miniature colorwash is the placement of the medium to dark values on the bottom portion of this piece. In my mind's eye, I see an orange/red poppy, with a dark center and it's like a piece of art, with a hidden object. I don't know if this was done intentionally, but I love the concept. Another winner for Wanda!

  3. You create with passion and it shows. I too believe “you are driven to create with a smooth blend of values” AND have a natural talent also. I do not know of another person that would stitch those tiny, tiny squares together.

    JJM

  4. If I had to worh with 1″ squares, I would resort to fusing! I wouldn't last long at all piecing 1″ squares. I didn't even last long when I tried to make a courthouse square quilt using 1″ strips! It was going to be a throw, at least. I started it at a retreat, but when I got home, I realized I'd never be able to continue or finish it at home, so I put on some borders and it became a wall hanging.

Leave a Reply

