Little sewing……..

I brought home some squares from our last church sewing circle because we didn’t meet a second time in May because of Memorial Day.  Both fabrics are poly/cotton, cut by hand in the 1970s and inaccurate.  The print is high majority polyester so it is slick and shiny and won’t ease at all.  I have no love for fabrics from that era.  I need to press it and take it to sewing circle this afternoon.

 The Red Penstemon is in full bloom now.  The flowers are a really pale pink, almost white.

 The yellow primroses are also in bloom.  I have them planted in every flowerbed.

 When I was little we used to go down by the creek and pick wild buttercups.  These remind me of those flowers.  I love yellow.

7 thoughts on “Little sewing……..

  1. The flowers are lovely! So far I have not killed my zinnias and they have their third set of leaves. The canna are growing well despite some cold nights we have had this week.

    I agree – polyester for a quilt is the pits! I machine quilted a baby quilt last year for someone that had used a mix of cotton fabrics and polyester and it was a pain to work with.

  2. Passing on something you really don't want to do is a gift to yourself. Good choice. I got a big bag of many of those kinds of fabrics and made one small quilt from the most usable and threw the rest away. The smell of them when I press the seams is not fun! The gifter felt like she did me a service and I'll never tell! (Except right here)

  3. Passing on something you really don't want to do is a gift to yourself. Good choice. I got a big bag of many of those kinds of fabrics and made one small quilt from the most usable and threw the rest away. The smell of them when I press the seams is not fun! The gifter felt like she did me a service and I'll never tell! (Except right here)

Leave a Reply

